Sign In | Create an Account | Welcome, . My Account | Logout | Subscribe | Submit News | Staff Contacts | Affiliates | Home RSS

Gladstone's Woelffer earns XC U.P. Dream Team slot

October 24, 2013
By John Vrancic - Sports Reporter ( , Daily Press

MARQUETTE - Menominee High School senior Kameron Burmeister completed a perfect cross country season last Saturday by earning her first Upper Peninsula Division 1 title.

It should come as no surprise she was a unanimous choice for Female Runner of the Year during Wednesday's meeting of the Upper Peninsula Cross Country Coaches Association.

Also selected for the Dream Team were Marquette sophomore Lindsey Rudden and freshman Amber Huebner, Hancock senior Abbey Tembreull, Gladstone freshman Leigha Woelffer, Rudyard junior Kaylee Hoolsema and St. Ignace junior Lily Calcaterra.

Article Photos

Photo by Paul Gerard
Leigha Woelffer of Gladstone was the area’s only Dream Team pick. The freshman finished fourth at the U.P Finals and finished top five in all but one of her races this season.

Marquette senior Cole Rieboldt, named Male Runner of the Year, was joined by sophomore teammate Lance Rambo, Stephenson sophomore Connor Cappaert, Kingsford sophomore Nate Carey, Ironwood junior Jared Joki, Houghton junior David Jazsczak and Munising sophomore Brett Hannah.

Burmeister, who has yet to decide where she'll attend college, was also this year's Great Northern Conference champion.

Huebner and Rudden placed 2-3 in the GNC meet Oct. 10 on the Dale Fountain Memorial Cross Country Course at Banat, then flip-flopped their order in the U.P. Finals at Gentz's Homestead Golf Course in Harvey.

Fact Box

All-U.P. cross country

Dream Team

Boys - Cole Rieboldt and Lance Rambo, Marquette; Jared Joki, Ironwood; Connor Cappaert, Stephenson; David Jazsczak, Houghton; Nate Carney, Kingsford; Brett Hannah, Munising.

Girls - Kameron Burmeister, Menominee; Lindsey Rudden and Amber Huebner, Marquette; Leigha Woelffer, Gladstone; Abbey Tembruell, Hancock; Kaylee Hoolsema, Rudyard; Lily Calcaterra, St. Ignace.


Division 1 - Cole Rieboldt, Lance Rambo, Brady Aboussleman, Logan Zueger Troy Sergey, Marquette; David Jazsczak, Jacob Colling and Isaac Stone, Houghton; Nate Carey, Kingsford; Joey Wolfe, Eric Cousineau and Tyler Hardwick, Escanaba; Gunther DeDamos and Davey Luplow, Menominee; Devin Berg and Mitch Delong, Calumet; Keenan Gantz and Grant Johnson, Negaunee; Ethan Twardy, Sault Ste. Marie.

Division 2 - Jared Joki, Michael Barto and Tim Lorenson, Ironwood; Brad Gustafson, Andrew Sjogren, Jacob Sjogren and Martin Donakowski, St. Ignace; Justin Anderson, Norway; Kazmine Langness, Mark Holmgren, Daren Guichin, Derek Mahosky and Matt Ferratt, Ishpeming; Hayden Heikkinen, Jacob Jarvis, Gabe Rupright and Murphy Mallow, Hancock; Ryan Hunt and Skyler Dakota, Westwood; Robert Ayotte, Manistique.

Division 3 - Connor Cappaert, Stephenson; Zach Mazurek, Bessemer; Seth Polfus, Bryce Holle and Josh Granquist, North Central; Nick Maki, Superior Central; Dionte Blahnik, Carney-Nadeau; Kyle Leclaire and Tom Autio, Dollar Bay; Jacob Anderzjak, Alec Firack and Jonathan McBain, Pickford; Kevin Semmens and Anthony Harris, Painesdale Jeffers; Brett Hannah and Andrew Busk, Munising; Sam Dean, Wakefield-Marenisco; John-Henry Kibit, Marquette North Star Academy.


Division 1 - Kameron Burmeister and Rebekah Wickman, Menominee; Lindsey Rudden, Amber Huebner, Nichole Mackey, Calla Martysz, Shayla Huebner, Abigail Potts and Cassidy Thomas, Marquette; Leigha Woelffer, Gladstone; Leah Kiilunen Chelsae Jacques, Cory Miller and Abbey Helppi, Calumet; Aimee Giese, Escanaba; Michaela Rushford and Josie Roos, Sault Ste. Marie; Noelle Polakowski, Houghton; Wyleen Kniola, Negaunee.

Division 2 - Abbey Tembreull, Erin Mckenzie, Kaylor Holmstrom, Ashley Aho, Anna Meese and Madisyn Wright, Hancock; Lily Calcaterra, Rosy Shimkovitz, Katie O'Rourke and Callie Kammers, St. Ignace; Natalie Beaulieu, Taylor Bryant and Bridget Stoetzer, Newberry; Kyra Johnson and Alexis Kallenbach, Norway; Jessica Gering, Ironwood; Tori Harris, West Iron County; Khora Swanson, Ishpeming; Anastasia Bjork, Westwood; Holly Blowers, Manistique.

Division 3 - Kaylee Hoolsema, Rudyard; Marissa Immel, Anna Baij and Julia Jacques, Munising; Emma Bohn, Alexis Barr, Leila Schlosser, Cedarville; Emily Chartrand, Brimley; Carli Gratopp, Paradise; Heidi Hagen and Haley Lamb, Pickford; Cami Daavettila, Dollar Bay; Lily Wierenga, Bessemer; Julia Pietila and Shitaey Sam, Chassell.


Male Runner of the Year - Cole Rieboldt, Marquette

Female Runner of the Year - Kameron Burmeister, Menominee

Team of the Year

Large schools - Marquette boys and girls

Small schools - St. Ignace boys and Munising girls

Coach of the Year

Division 1 - Dale Phillips, Marquette

Division 2 - Matt Dennis, Hancock and Emily Fullerton, St. Ignace

Division 3 - Jerry Root, North Central and Eric Teysen, Pickford.

Rudden was undefeated prior to the GNC meet. She is the daughter of 1983 Escanaba High School graduate Jerry Rudden, who played as a junior tailback/linebacker on Esky's 1981 Class A state championship football team.

Huebner, consistently among the leaders, won the Kingsford Invitational on Sept. 10.

Woelffer was in the top five in every race except the Shawano, Wis. Invitational, where she placed seventh among 170 runners. She took fifth in the GNC and moved up to fourth at the Finals, where she was clocked in a personal-best 20 minutes, four seconds. She was also this area's lone Dream Team pick and received D-1 all-state honors.

Tembreull, who plans to run cross country at Finlandia University next fall, was crowned U.P. Division 2 champion for the first time and placed third in the West-Pac Conference.

Calcaterra, the U.P. D-2 runner-up, also finished second overall in the three Straits Area Jamboree races. Hoolsema gained her first D-3 championship and placed sixth overall in the SAC.

Rieboldt, who ran cross country for the first time this season, set a course record (16:22) In the GNC meet.

He and Rambo placed 1-2 in most meets this year, with Rambo taking the U.P. title.

Cappaert captured the D-3 title a year after winning D-2 and placed fourth in this year's GNC meet. Carey took fourth in the D-1 Finals and was sixth in the GNC.

Jazsczak copped the West-Pac title and placed third in the D-1 Finals. Joki, this year's Indianhead Conference champ, dominated the D-2 Finals and Hannah was crowned Central U.P./Skyline Conference champion for the second straight time.

The Marquette boys and girls were named Teams of the Year among the large schools, with the St. Ignace boys and Munising girls taking top small school honors.

Marquette's Dale Phillips earned Coach of the Year honors in D-1. Hancock's Matt Dennis and St. Ignace's Emily Fullerton shared similar honors in D-2, with North Central's Jerry Root and Pickford's Eric Teysen co-coaches of the Year in D-3.

Esky junior Eric Cousineau didn't gain a Dream Team berth despite placing in the top three in each race prior to the Finals, where he took seventh.

Cousineau, however, did receive D-1 all-state honors as did freshman teammate Joey Wolfe. Receiving all-state in D-1 girls is Esky junior Aimee Giese.

Area D-3 all-state harriers include North Central freshman Seth Polfus and sophomore Bryce Holle, Superior Central senior Nick Maki and Carney-Nadeau senior Dionte Blahnik.

Those receiving U.P. honors were Esky's Tyler Hardwick in D-1, Manistique's Holly Blowers and Robert Ayotte (D-2) and North Central's Josh Granquist (D-3).



I am looking for:
News, Blogs & Events Web